Ivy/Vaadin just not working. Please help.

I am a complete newbie to both Ivy and Vaadin, but not to Eclipse and Java. I’ve done my best to follow the instructions laid out in The Book of Vaadin to get everything downloaded and installed. However, I am running into several problems and need help getting out of them. First, my setup: Mac Pro running Mavericks, Eclipse Luna SR1 (4.4.1), Apache Ivy 2.5.0.alpha, Apache Ivy Ant Tasks 2.5.0.alpha, Apache IvyDE 2.2.0.beta1, and finally, Vaadin Plug-in for Eclipse 2.3.0.

After installing all of the plugins by following the instructions in The Book of Vaadin step-by-step, I reach the point of having Eclipse check for updates. Fine, I’ve done this dozens of times before, but now that Ivy & Vaadin are installed, this update process takes a good 10–15 minutes, when it has historically only taken one or two minutes, at most. Nevertheless, being patient, I let it run through its updating process and it updates Ivy from 2.4.0.cr1 to that 2.5.0.alpha I listed above. After restarting, I attempt to create a new Vaadin 7 project.

It appears to create the project, yet the “New Vaadin 7 Project” window remains on screen, when such a window typically disappears after a successful creation of a project. In addition, the project has many red errors in it—all of the Vaadin imports and references in the .java file are marked as errors. It’s as though it just isn’t getting the Vaadin libraries when it creates the new project. But, hey, it could be something else; I’m just speculating.

Can anyone please help this complete Vaadin newbie just get the stuff installed so I can follow along in The Book of Vaadin to learn it?

Hi, I have one hint, stay away from IVY :slight_smile: You could use some smarter build systems and then you don’t necessarely need our Eclipse plugin at all. Even better, you might actually use
another IDE
altogether.