jBoss deployment

Do you guys have any idea how to deploy a war file to jBoss? Vaadin 23 - Java 11 - jBoss 7. I badly need it.

What is your issue with it?

@quintessential-ibex im currently receiving this kind of error and am not seeing any solutions online.

Error creating bean with name ‘vaadinApplicationContextInitializer’

JBoss 7.1 is not supported if you take a look at the release notes of V23.

Oh. I forgot to include. jBoss 7.4. Sorry. @quirky-zebra

I’m not an expert with JBoss, but from the name you have posted, I would guess you are using Vaadin Spring and not a plain CDI based project. So make sure you are preparing spring to be a deployable war / ear archive and remove tomcat and such

@quirky-zebra i am using the codes made from start.vaadin.com. I changed the pom file to war and created a war file after building. However, I am facing this vaadinApplicationContextListener error when I tried to deployed it to jBoss.

That’s definitely not enough. First make sure that you are also using an embedded wildfly instead of tomcat in your local dev environment with spring boot, once that works correctly, make sure to properly follow guides provided by spring how to move from an embedded to an external container.

Did you follow the instructions how to deploy spring boot app as war file? It is not just changing the packaging! Spring Boot Reference Documentation

If you will be running on jBoss and don’t need anything specific from Spring, I’d also suggest to go with a CDI based approach and use all the good that jBoss brings in by default (Jakarta EE features).

Hi. I’m migrating from another front-end framework, and I’m using Vaadin 14, Java 1.8 and JBoss 7.1 because of runtime environment constraints. I’m having similar issues deploying a war to JBoss as Arky seems to be having. If I switch to using Vaadin CDI, will a CDI app be able to access Hibernate and Shiro once deployed? Can you point me to a simple example for an understanding of how to implement it?