JPAContainer Help

Hi,

I’m new to Vaadin and have only used it only for a few days. I was able to mockup a few application form in only a few days. Now, I am attempting to bind the data from a MySQL table to the application form using JPAContainer.

JPAContainer container = JPAContainerFactory.make(
EntityAccount.class, “Account”);

With this code, I am getting the following error.

the type javax.persistence.EntityManager cannot be resolved. It is indirectly referenced from required .class files

I also noticed the javax annotations are also not imported correctly on an entity bean I created.

I am using Eclipse Luna as the java IDE and not sure if it is a setup issue or something else. If someone know of a solution to resolve this error, I would greatly appreciate the feedback.

Thanks.

Further…I pointed the project to the jdk.8.0_25 rather than jre thinking it would resolve the issue and it did not.

Can you post your persistence.xml file?

Hi darrelln09,

Looking at the project layout, I can’t locate the persistence.xml file. Can you please point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

It should be inside a folder named META-INF.

There is NO persistence.xml in the META-INF folder for my project.

Thanks.

Well that certainly explains your error!

i suggest you page through the JPAContainer Tutorial here: https://vaadin.com/directory#!addon/vaadin-jpacontainer

You should also make sure your project setup in eclipse includes the JPA facet. There are several nice tools in that package to help annotate the persistence entity classes, edit the persistence.xml file, and forward- or reverse-engineer the associated database tables.

I thought my adding the ivy dependency to ivy.xml the eclipse will download addon.

Thanks for the help! I will give it a short.