vaadin 7, liferay, ide?

im trying to get going with vaadin again but having a lot of trouble doing so.

im trying newest eclipse, vaadin designer pluign to eclipse, liferay 6.2ce and any combination that will update vaadin on liferay :slight_smile:

I notice that if I use liferay IDE it knows a lot about liferay of cause and can create a vaadin portlet also but everything is then for vaadin6 and I would need to correct all files after. Of cause this is a “setup once” problem… but still… since im trying to find the correct/best/something solution to get going … its not really optimal.

I notice then if I use eclipse and the vaadin designer plugin it can create vaadin 7 projects and also tell it to make a portlet. This does not really work. You need again to change the files created DTD that are incorrect small issues. Also to deply (might be im new to eclipse) I seams I have to use the export to war feature and thats… a but annoying in the long run :slight_smile:

I also notice its a pain to figure out about the widget set things when trying to use Liferay. I needed to remove everything and set @theme(“valo”) to make it work. This seams to have the effect, again im new to caring about widget and themes, that nothing will work if you try to get a vaadin add on working since now You need to specify use of specific widgetsets somehow, somewhere and… I dont get where or how again since liferay seams to overturn everything.

there is the issue of selfcontaint portlet or not. Seams not really to do whats expected if you think the IDE will set this up for you - at least again for issues related to widgetsets and 3. party addons downloaded from vaadin.com