There should be a Vaadin 9 version

For me Vaadin was attractive for 2 reasons:

• it’s not Spring
  • I don’t need to deal with javascript as a whole (including npm installation, compiling etc)

I am a backend oriented Java developer, go to ui developement only occasionally. I simply didn’t wanted, and don’t plan to ever go into the long, and frequently changing javascript framework learning curve. For quite a few actual working hours using the knowledge.

The move from Vaadin to abandon GWT and rebuild the platform on Polymer makes me feel, that I most likely never go beyond Vaadin 8, and probably go back to use GWT instead for ui purposes, without the otherwise very useful additions that Vaadin made.

So I would be very happy if there would be even a community supported Vaadin 9 project - continue the development of Vaadin framework with GWT, where the company turned other ways. I think I am not alone with this wish.

I just want to note that we are still supporting Vaadin 8, at least until February 2022. In practice that means doing frequent bug fixes and small improvements.

For example if there is going to be GWT 2.9 release before 2022 which adds support e.g. to JDK 11, we will evaluate if that can be used in Vaadin 8, and if yes we will include it in framework. It will most likely not make it Vaadin 9, but just Vaadin 8.X.

Note also, that using Vaadin 10+ does not mandate using Javascript. The big difference between Vaadin 8 and the new framework is that in case you want to implement custom components with client side, yes then some Javascript is needed. In Vaadin 8 you can implement the client side code also in Java due GWT (and also with Javascript if you so wish). My understanding is that most of the developers do not implement such components themselves, so it does not make much difference for them as long the availability of the add-ons in Directory is sufficient.