Table: updating dependent select on value change

Hi all,

I’m quite new to vaadin. It is still very impressive to me as everyting seems quite easy and the documentation and forum are on a high level.

Now I came up with a - I thought - quite common requirement. I want to edit a set of entries in an table. There are several Select fields in the table, two of them being dependent of another. So if Select A’s value is changed the contents of Select B have to be updated.

I didn’t find a way to do it with pure vaadin but I had to do some extensions to my classes I thought the framework should provide. This is a short summary of what I did:

1. In my TableFieldFactory implementation I added a two-dimensional cache for caching the field instances created in createField so I could access the fields with the objectId and propertyId available in the valueChange method.
  2. I extended the Select class to provide easy access to the entity edited (i.e. the data in the table row ).
  3. In the valueChange method I access the select, taking the entity provided and access the select(s) to update by using the entity and the column name.

[font=Courier New]

public void valueChange(Property.ValueChangeEvent event) {
Field field = (Field) event.getProperty();
if (field instanceof ExtendedSelect) {
ExtendedSelect select = (ExtendedSelect) field;
Entry entry = select.getEntry();
Object value = field.getValue();
if (value instanceof Project) {
Project project = (Project) value;
updateContainerForSelect(entry, project);
}
}
}

private void updateContainerForSelect(Entry entry, Project newProject) {
Select select = (Select) oneDayTable.getField(entry, RecordingFields.WORK_PACKAGE);
if (select != null) {
BeanItemContainer workPackageContainer =
oneDayTable.getOneDayTableFieldFactory().createWorkPackageContainer(newProject);
select.removeAllItems();
select.setContainerDataSource(workPackageContainer);
}
}

[/font]