Refreshing data from a UI component

I am trying to refresh data on a GridLayout that reads from a database after a Form from a subwindow is launched from the GridLayout and someone has filled in the form and writes it back to the database. I do not have a secondary thread doing this, its written from the Window thread by calling a utility class. I have read about Refresher (and can’t use ICEPush as this is in a portlet and ICEPush doesn’t appear to support portlets) here:

Refreshing data from a Table

I am skeptical to add a polling mechanism if I do not need it and it seems like a common requirement to me to refresh data after a form is filled out…but then I am new to vaadin and how it works so I concede for help from the experts :slight_smile: I’m hoping I am just missing something and don’t actually need Refresher.

In case it helps, the basic code of my GridLayout to open the subwindow looks like:

Button newFormButton = new Button("New Incident", new Button.ClickListener() {
            public void buttonClick(Button.ClickEvent event) {
                app.getMainWindow().addWindow(new ComplianceFormWindow(app));
            }
        });

and in that class later on is the population of the data:

List<ComplianceEntry> incidents = app.getComplianceService().getAllIncidents();
        BeanItemContainer<ComplianceEntry> itemContainer = null;

if (incidents == null || incidents.size() < 1) {
            itemContainer = new BeanItemContainer<ComplianceEntry>(
                    ComplianceEntry.class);
        } else {
            itemContainer = new BeanItemContainer<ComplianceEntry>(
                    incidents);
        }

complianceList.setContainerDataSource(itemContainer);

And the ComplianceFormWindow extends Window and has a Button.ClickListener and a Form included that does:

Button save = new Button("Save Incident", new Button.ClickListener() {

try {
                    complianceForm.commit();