Newbie question - configuring Eclipse and Tomcat

Hi,

I’m new to vaadin and am having some trouble setting up a development environment. I’m using Eclipse and Tomcat under Ubuntu Linux. I followed the instructions in the Book of Vaadin under “Your First Project with Vaadin”. This all works – more or less. The problems I’m having are:

1. “Run on Server” sometimes starts the application properly, but sometimes I get an error from Tomcat: “HTTP Status 404-” “The requested resource() is not available”

2. If I make changes to the code, they are usually not reflected in the application. This is true even if I manually save the source file and tell Eclipse to clean the project. I would like the source file to be saved automatically and the application rebuilt using the new source, if I select “Run on Server” while a source file is open in the editor. I’ve been able to configure this behavior when using Eclipse to build java or C++ programs for other platforms.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Matthew Fleming, MD
Fleming Dermatopathology
Milwaukee, WI

On my system 404 usually means the Eclipse is still deploying the project, make sure Eclipse has finished deploying the project before you run it again. Have you tried running the application with ?restartApplication parameter like
http://localhost:8080/myapp/?restartApplication
that will restart the application with the latest changes.

Thanks very much.

Running http://localhost:8080/myapp/?restartApplication instead of http://localhost:8080/myapp in an external browser allows me to see my code changes, ie runs the latest version of the application. However, can I configure Eclipse to use this parameter when running the application within its built-in browser?