Multiple single-file uploads with 1 upload button?

Hi,
I’m new to vaadin, so please bare with me.

I already looked into easyuploads addon and the standard vaadin Upload component but none of these seems to offer the possibility to provide several (single-file) filechoosers with one (1) upload button (at the end) which triggers the uploads of files of all filechoosers on that page.

Like that:

[filechooser]

[filechooser]

[filechooser]

[filechooser]

[filechooser]

[filechooser]

[uploadbutton]

I don’t want to use a multiple-file chooser like in easyuploads since it doesn’t work for me in IE8+9 for some reason.

Any hints on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Kersten

Hi,

Why do you want to waste your users time by not starting the upload immediately (setImmediate(true))? If he must upload e.g. 10 * 1mb files, he’ll have to wait for 10mb to upload once he gets to push the upload button that triggers them all. If you start uploads automatically as files are selected, there is probably just on or two left when he has selected the last one.

MultiFileUpload in EasyUploads worked like this earlier, until I implemented “multiple” for real browsers and the flash fallback for IE. If I remember correctly it still remains “available” for more once one or more files have been selected.

In 6.6 there is (will be once released) a server side api to trigger upload : http://dev.vaadin.com/ticket/6630 . But as stated earlier I’d really suggest another kind of patter for modern web apps.

What exactly was the issue with EasyUploads MultiFileUpload? It uses flash fallback in IE, but I have assumed that everybody (except mobile users) have flash installed these days.

cheers,
matti

Hi

I am also looking for similar solution .

I need to upload multiple files from different sites

Say , site A ,has 3 files to upload
site B, has 4 files to upload .