Modal Dialog not stop program flow

Hi
I am new to Vaadin Flow.
I have created a Modal Dialog to confirm whether the user is sure about their change, however the record is saved as the java logic continues even though the dialog is displayed.

Java/Swing the program flow would stop until the dialog is closed.

Am I doing something wrong?

Hi @pjc158, opening a modal dialog restricts interaction to just this dialog but doesn’t pause the server-side program. For what you describe, consider using Confirm Dialog in which you can subscribe to the confirm action and specify what to do next when the user confirms or cancels the action. For example:

ConfirmDialog dialog = new ConfirmDialog();
dialog.setHeader("Unsaved changes");
dialog.setText("There are unsaved changes. Do you want to discard or save them?");

dialog.setCancelable(true);
dialog.addCancelListener(event -> {
    // By default it just closes the dialog
});

dialog.setConfirmText("Save");
dialog.addConfirmListener(event -> {
    // Save the record here
});

Please refer to the documentation to learn more about Confirm Dialog.

Hi
That’s a bit of a pain, as I need to validate at least 10 fields (or more for some records), if the validation fails for one or more I do not want to save the record as the user has to correct the issue first.

I’m not sure what you’re trying to do.

You need to run the save function on the Confirm Listener.

I would probably validate the record before opening the Dialog and show the errors.

Maybe you have a code sample that would help us to understand.

Since you’re coming from Swing you can also read this: Tackling blocking dialogs in web applications with Vaadin | Vaadin

Hi
To keep it simple I have decided to add change listener to those fields that needs validating and show a config dialog, and then validate the rest of the fields at the end before saving the record.