How to sort a ComboBox?

Hi,

I’m new to Vaadin, and still trying to wrap my head around how everything works. I’ve been going through the Tutorial and trying to test out new things along the way. One thing I have not been able to figure out is how to sort a ComboBox.

Given:

private final ComboBox cities = new ComboBox("City", new IndexedContainer());
cities.addItem( "Something" );
cities.addItem("Else");
cities.addItem("Goes");
cities.addItem("Here");

I tried ((IndexContainer)cities.getContainerDataSource()).sort(new Object[]{}, new boolean[] {true}) but that didn’t work. I’m not sure what to use for the “PropertyId” array that needs to be sorted.

Can someone point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,

Eric

Hi,

It’s been a week and I’m amazed that no one can answer how to perform this simple task? Is it really that complicated? I would have thought it fairly straight-forward, but when I look through the Vaadin code, I have to admit I get thoroughly lost with IndexedContainer$IndexContainerItem and their propertyIds, etc.

Can someone please help?

Thanks,

Eric

Try first sorting the elements in a List, check Collections.sort(List list) and then add this elements at the combobox.

example:
ArrayList listOfTheElements=new ArrayList… put here the elements.

ArrayList listSorted=Collections.sort(listOfTheElements);
Iterator iterator=listSorted.iterator();

while(iterator.hasNext()){
cities.addItem(iterator.next());

}

In your case, the items in the container actually do not have any normal properties you could sort them by - just item IDs. This is why the sort() method does not work. Almost every operation and component relies on container property values, but ComboBox also has a caption mode (enabled by default) that directly uses item identifiers as captions and ignores property values. Note that the parameter to Container.addItem(Object) and ComboBox.addItem(Object) is an item identifier, not the item content.