Guidance on how to log in with spring security via a external URL redirect

Hi I am new to Vaadin and spring security, currently dipping my toes on how to implement security for my application. I currently redirect the user to a external URL to be able to log in and later receive a token via postMapping, how do I approach logging in that user so they can have access to other views? Any guidance and or project examples would be appreciated.

https://vaadin.com/blog/oauth-2-and-google-sign-in-for-a-vaadin-application

thanks, but is this only for logging in with a google account? I need the user to log in via laji.fi to grant access to a image api.

laji.fi is not a common Identity provider and as per the doc on https://api.laji.fi/explorer/#!/APIUser/APIUser_create_post_api_users you have to contact them if you want to use auth functionality in your app

not sure what “as per the doc refers to” I have access to their auth client just not sure how to grant users access to views without filling a loginForm.

I think you are mixing two types of tokens. I believe the laji.fi API requires you to have an access key for the app, not one for each user.

So, if I understand this correctly, you need to make a POST request and they’ll email you the key. Then, you would save that in a secure place on your server and include that in API requests to the API.

Access token is needed to use this API. To get a token, send a POST request with your email address to /api-users endpoint and one will be send to your.

ye I already get the token and save it on my server, the part I am confused about is that if I have main dashboard restricted to only allow permitted users which in this case would be once the laji token is received via post request how do I allow that user to be able to gain access to the dashboard.
Sorry Im quite lost when it comes to how spring security works.

No worries. Security is not easy.