Binder and Validation Issues

I am trying to use a Binder to map my UI to my Bean. I am new to Vaadin and very new to Binders. I have some sample code that works in another application that I am trying to use here and keep getting validation errors. I’ll paste the code below.

I have removed all the validation code from my binder yet when I call binder.isValid() it fails. If instead I comment out the isValid the writeBean does work. However, if I do have any validator and call writeBean, it fails with validation errors.

Not sure where to go with this. Any thoughts?

Binder<BroadcastMessage> dataBinder = new Binder<>( BroadcastMessage.class ); // field binder

//  Setup Data Binding
dataBinder.forField( comboBoxCategories ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getDocCat, BroadcastMessage::setDocCat );
dataBinder.forField( comboBoxBroadcastType ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getBroadcastMessage, BroadcastMessage::setBroadcastMessage );
dataBinder.forField( txtDocTitle ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getDocTitle, BroadcastMessage::setDocTitle );
//  this fails when I try to write the bean
//  dataBinder.forField( txtDocTitle ).withValidator( strTitle -> strTitle.length() >= 3, "Please enter a title" ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getDocTitle, BroadcastMessage::setDocTitle );
dataBinder.forField( txtAreaBody ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getBroadcastMessage, BroadcastMessage::setBroadcastMessage );
dataBinder.forField( comboBoxMailWho ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getMailWho, BroadcastMessage::setMailWho );
dataBinder.forField( txtAdditionalDestinations ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getAddEmails, BroadcastMessage::setAddEmails );
dataBinder.forField( txtAdditionalDestinations ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getAddPhoneNumbers, BroadcastMessage::setAddPhoneNumbers );
dataBinder.forField( txtBroadcastMessagCallerID ).bind( BroadcastMessage::getBroadcastMessageCallerID, BroadcastMessage::setBroadcastMessageCallerID );

// Submit button event listener(Save document)
btnSubmit.addClickListener( e ->
{