add minimize button for a window?

Hi all,
I am concerning about adding new functions for a window. Is it possible to add new ‘buttons’ next to the close button for example minimize or maximize… and give listeners for them?
Thanks.

I’d also like to add custom buttons to the top border next to the close (“X”) button. I’d appreciate some guidance on the best way to achieve this, as I am very new to Vaadin.
Thanks

There is no trivial way of doing this. I would recommend to create a new “WindowWithMinimizeButton” -component for it by extending Window both on the server- and client-side. Probably won’t be too hard even though it sounds a bit scary :)

To add few custom buttons next to close buttons, I extended vaadin Window to create my own Window component. But, the way vaadin Window code is written makes the extension very hard. The method “constructDOM” has everything to build the window, there is no way just modify the header alone. If I layout everything by myself, I may break feature like drag-ability and such supported by vaadin Window class. The reason is there are few private members used inside this function, makes it hard to extend it. Is there a way to get around this issue.

I guess there’s no good way around it, only bad ones, such as copy-pasting the whole class, or inserting new DOM elements directly inside the generated window DOM after it is done.

Considering that a Window is a fundamental container, and not a peripheral widget, it will be better for Vaadin toolkit if there weren’t too many flavors of Window implementations and variations. So I’d like to make a case for Vaadin to enhance the current implementation of Window to include a Maximize button (aka “+” button on a Mac window), and a Minimize button (aka “-” button on a Mac window), in addition to the existing Close(X) button on the window header.

The + button would maximize or bring back to regular size, within the application window.