Integrating Vaadin Widgets to HTML/JavaScript

Hello,
I am pretty new to Vaadin and using Vaadin 7.1.8. I am looking at the possibility of integrating a Vaadin widget to an existing HTML + JavaScript client.

Firstly I want to confirm if this is something supported by Vaadin. Haven’t seen much info about this in the docs.

Now what I am doing is, the necessary methods of a Vaadin widget is exposed as a native Javascript API(btw does Vaadin already have a native ineterface for this so that I dodn’t have to do this for every Vaadin widget that I want to use?) in my entry point class and calling those APIs from my JavaScript client.

I compiled the widgetset and added the script tag on the page pointing to the <my_widgetset>.nocache.js file.

The page loads fine and I am able to add the Vaadin widget on to the page but having 2 problems:

1. During page load I see this error in the Firefox console:

TypeError: $wnd.vaadin is undefined
    function onAttach_0(){

What this error means? I don’t have any usage of $wnd.vaadin in my code and is coming from the GWT compiled code. I have added only the <my_widgetset>.nocache.js to the page. Is there some other JS files neeed to be on the page that initializes $wnd.vaadin?

1. I also see this error on the page(e.g. while typing some txt on the RichTextArea widget):

com.google.gwt.logging.client.LogConfiguration SEVERE: Exception caught: (TypeError)

lineNumber: 562 columnNumber: 2: $getShortcutHandlerOwner(…) is nullcom.google.gwt.event.shared.UmbrellaException: Exception caught: (TypeError)

Thanks much for any help,
dw