Possible memory leak??

Hello!

I am new to Vaadin. I came across OutOfMemoryError (heap space).
I have basic application with only one window that has 3 labels and 2 inputs (login screen). Vaadin is in production mode.

I launched this under tomcat with 32mb heap.

Then I launched 2 threads each runs the following code 5 times a second:
<…>
while (true) {
URL url = new URL(“http://localhost:8080/”);

HttpURLConnection conn = (HttpURLConnection)url.openConnection();

conn.connect();

System.out.println("Connected [httpResCode=" + conn.getResponseCode() + ']

');

conn.disconnect();

Thread.sleep(200)

}
<…>
This code makes vaadin application to create login window again and again. And my tomcat runs out of memory in several minutes (threads made only less than 2000 requests). I can’t say that this is a huge load. There are approximately 10 requests per second.

I profiled tomcat with visual vm and saw that there are a lot of Vaadin UI components that are never GCed (Labels, Buttons, etc).

As far as I can see all instantiated components go to maps:
com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.server.AbstractCommunicationManager.idPaintableMap
com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.server.AbstractCommunicationManager.paintableIdMap

And they are never removed from… app runs out of memory first. I have default session timeout.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong here? Do I miss some critical setup options?
Where can I find full information on component lifecycle if any?

Any help on this will be appreciated.

Thanks.

You really seem to be trying to look for limits… but this testing methodology tells very little about real-world performance and scalability characteristics for anything but a DoS-attack attempt, as it ignores most aspects of the life cycle of a Vaadin application - sessions, cached static resources, XHR UIDL requests interacting with existing application instances (rather than initializing a new application for each request) etc.