Is Vaadin 7 viable in other IDEs (besides Eclipse)

I can’t even get Eclipse Juno (or future Kepler) to launch on my Mountain Lion Mac with only Java 7 installed (no Java 6). That has renewed my interest in using other IDEs, particularly IntelliJ or NetBeans. I’m starting a fresh project in Vaadin 7.

IntelliJ 12 claims basic support for Vaadin. I assume that means Vaadin 6.

Is Vaadin 7 development viable in IntelliJ, NetBeans, or something else?

Can someone point to useful tutorials on configuring Vaadin 7 in such IDEs?

I don’t mind a little bit of tweaking, but I don’t want to be fighting against my tools.

–Basil Bourque

Well, I’ve been developing with Vaadin in IntelliJ for two years now.

Admittedly, I don’t use the Vaadin integration much - we use our own ant file to build the WidgetSet - but that’s only because I started using Vaadin before there was an integration.

HTH a little,

Cheers,

Charles

Hi,

According to
http://plugins.jetbrains.com/plugin?pluginId=6727
the IntelliJ Vaadin plug-in supports 7.0.0.rc1, which should work with 7.0.0 aswell as there are no major changes between the versions.

If it does not, you always have the option of creating a Maven project and use the Maven tools available. See e.g.
https://vaadin.com/wiki/-/wiki/Main/Creating%20a%20Maven%20project

Netbeans do play nice with maven projects, so if you create your Vaadin project using the maven archetype , Netbeans will be fine with it too…

I use IntelliJ with a maven project and Vaadin 7 but not the Vaadin integration.

Widgetset will be compiled by maven goal if needed.