Failed to load application class when starting example project

Hello, I’m new to vaadin thus I’m going step by step with the “Book of vaadin” first example (Your Firs Project in vaadin) but when launching the application I get

javax.servlet.ServletException: Failed to load application class: com.example.testingvaadin.myproject
at com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.server.ApplicationServlet.init(ApplicationServlet.java:71)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapper.loadServlet(StandardWrapper.java:1206)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapper.allocate(StandardWrapper.java:827)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapperValve.invoke(StandardWrapperValve.java:129)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContextValve.invoke(StandardContextValve.java:191)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.invoke(StandardHostValve.java:127)
at org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:103)
at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngineValve.invoke(StandardEngineValve.java:109)
at org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:293)
at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Processor.process(Http11Processor.java:861)
at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Protocol$Http11ConnectionHandler.process(Http11Protocol.java:606)
at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.JIoEndpoint$Worker.run(JIoEndpoint.java:489)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Notes:

a) Same error with Tomacat 6 and 7
b) Yes, vaadin’s jar is in the lib directory (…WebContent\WEB-INF\lib\vaadin-6.8.4.jar)

I’ve seen that is a very common error (googling “ApplicationServlet.java:71”) but I did not find the solution for my problem, any guess?

thanks in advance

Are you sure that ‘com.example.testingvaadin.myproject’ is the complete qualified name of your actual Application class, and not just the package name? How do you deploy your application?

Hi Thomas,

Tnx for your answer.

Yes I’m sure. The lowercase
m