Help with vaadin app layout

Hello guys,

I’m assembling a layout (I’m not a web designer as you can see) in vaadin but couldn’t get exactly what I’m looking for, maybe some help?

Follow the screenshot of the layout that I’m tryin’ to create, using only vaadin layouts (not custom layout).

How can I assembly that?

Thanks in advance.
11368.png

In my opinion the best way to achieve it is to use GridLayout, 3 rows, 2 columns. Topmost component should span across two columns, leftmost across two rows.

Where would you like to have scrollbars? Which parts of the UI should expand their size, which should fit to browser window?

Thanks for the reply.

The brown area I want to use horizontal scroll but the size will be fixed (menu bar as tree).

The yellow area size is fixed.

The blue area size is fixed.

The green area I want to get the rest of the size, to fit to the user’s screen (screens will open in this area, using tabsheet).

I tried in different ways to accomplish that with no success, my problem is to define the fixed size for the blue area and set the green area to be expanded.

The blue area I want to put several components horizontally, like [x x x x]
so I think it should have a HorizontalLayout.

Thanks again.

Didn’t you mean vertical scroll for the brown area? Horizontal scrolls are quite annoying in such places.

Assuming that variables of components in layout are named: orange, brown, green and blue respectively. Blue extends HorizontalLayout, as you said.

GridLayout grid = new GridLayout(2, 3);
grid.setWidth("100%");
grid.setColumnExpandRatio(0, 1);
grid.setColumnExpandRatio(1, 4);
grid.addComponent(orange, 0, 0, 1, 0); // first row, span across two columns
grid.addComponent(brown, 0, 1, 0, 2); // first column, span across two rows
grid.addComponent(green, 1, 1);
grid.addComponent(blue, 1, 2);

Have a look at GridLayout’s javadoc for further explanation of the above method calls.