Vaddin 7 beta 3 - HorizontalLayout - not working as expected

All,
I’m quite new to Vaadin. Just switched 6 to 7-beta-3 for better data binding feature. Got stuck with the first try. It’s so basic that I’m sure I was wrong somewhere.

The horizontal layout just does not take effect, it always shows the output as if the (default) vertical layout is working. I also updated my Firefox (on Mac) to the very latest version.

Actually, I was converting a Vaadin 6 app to the vaadin 7 and encountered this problem. I reproduced the problem by tweaking the automatically generated app from the Maven archtype.

public class MyVaadinUI extends UI
{

public class MyComp extends CustomComponent {

public MyComp() {
		HorizontalLayout main = new HorizontalLayout();
    	main.setWidth("100%");
        Button button = new Button("Click Me");
        button.addClickListener(new Button.ClickListener() {
            public void buttonClick(ClickEvent event) {
                event.getButton().getUI().addComponent(new Label("Thank you for clicking"));
            }
        });
        Button button2 = new Button("Click Me 2");
        main.addComponent(button);
        main.addComponent(button2);

setCompositionRoot(main);

}

}

@Override
protected void init(VaadinRequest request) {

addComponent(new MyComp());

}

}

I switched to an earlier version Vaadin 7 beta 2. The problem is solved.
I still don’t believe my eyes because this is such a basic regression test. I really wonder why nobody else is complaining about this.

Anyway, I will stick with beta 2 for another several weeks before try a newer version.

I tried your example with the latest nightly of Vaadin 7 and it is working fine for me. Are you sure you have updated your widgetset and themes after you’ve done the upgrade?

Beta4 should come out any moment now so please when it does try it and report back.

We’re seeing the same with beta7.