How can i create a reusable base Grid

Hey guys.
I am new to Vaadin and still trying to learn it.
Currently i am butting heads with the components.

My issue here is this:
I have class A, B and C and so on…
And i have a view where i display the list of objects from those classes on a grid, each class has a grid assigned to them. (currently i have 5 of them but there will be more throughout the web app)
The thing is those classes have similar fields. Like all of the classes have the fields Id, name, shortName, etc. (they all extend one Main class Z)
So i was wondering how can i create a single reusable grid to use as a base and depending on the class i want to list, add the specific fields to it. Basically in my head i want a reusable grid component created separately and then call it to the view and then from there adapt it to my needs.

Because right now what i am doing is i am creating 5 different grids in the same view (i don’t feel like this is a good practice btw) and that kinda makes my code very repetitive cause i have to do the same thing multiple times and i would like to know if its possible to prevent this repetitive coding.

Sorry for the bothering and thanks in advance for your time.

Hi,

It’s hard to give a solution without knowing the architecture and your need.
But one simple solution to avoid copy/paste for the generic columns is to make a static class GridUtil
GridUtil.addGenericColumns(grid)
This method will add the generic columns of your Main class Z.

About the 5 different grids in one view. That’s probably a lot to show, but it’s more a UX problem than a technical issue.

Hey thanks for the help,
I basically want to have something like the form layout component created apart like the one the [tutorial here]
(https://vaadin.com/learn/tutorials/modern-web-apps-with-spring-boot-and-vaadin/creating-custom-reusable-components-in-vaadin) shows