Partial Page Refresh with Portlet Events

I have two Vaadin (6.3.2) JSR286 portlets deployed from the same .war in Liferay (5.2.3). One portlet publishes an event to the other. This is done using the PortletApplicationContext2 to fire the event.

// Publisher Portlet
table.addListener(new Table.ValueChangeListener() {

public void valueChange(ValueChangeEvent event) {
                Foo foo = (Foo) event.getProperty().getValue();
                    PortletApplicationContext2 ctx = (PortletApplicationContext2) getContext();
                    logger.info("Sending portlet event");
                    ctx.sendPortletEvent(getMainWindow(), new QName("http://www.this.org/events", "Foo"), foo);
            }
        });

This works as expected and the subscribing portlet receives the event. However, the entire page refreshes. Is it possible to just have the portlets themselves refresh?

I am new to portlet development and am trying to determine if this is the default behavior.

Appreciate any assistance.

Portlet events can only be sent from action or render requests. As user actions in a Vaadin application are sent to the server as resource requests, Vaadin has to create a new action request, reload the page with it and send the event from there.

Note that in many cases, the receiving portlet would need a page reload anyway to display the effects of the event.

There might also be a little information in
the book
, although not much on this specific topic.

A little background (from memory, I did not check the JSR-286 spec) for those interested on how different request types are currently used by Vaadin and to a large extent in JSR-286 portlet containers in general: