Access javascript data from Java

Hi guys,
I’m very new to maven, vaadin and java applications in general, so I hoped you could help me with this as I’m not sure what’s the best way to go about it.
Basically I have a maven project (java 7) which, using javascript, creates a popup window with a form inside, allows you to upload a file, display its content in a textarea and send it (the content of the file as a string) to the server via an ajax request. That was the easy part.
What I want to do now is to access that data sent through ajax (the string containing the data of the uploaded file) in Java because I need to run it through some validation.
I had a good look around, including the book of vaadin, and the net in general and considering that I have never done this before, it seems that one way could be to have a connector, but it looks a little too complicated and also it appears - from what I understand from the book of vaadin https://vaadin.com/docs/-/part/framework/gwt/gwt-overview.html - that I won’t be able to implement that in my project given the structure I have - which is different from what’s in there.
So, my question to you guys is, given the project I have (just a normal maven project) what would be the easiest way for me to access this data from Java?
Here is some code from the project, to put things into context:

import javax.servlet.annotation.WebServlet;
import com.vaadin.annotations.Theme;
import com.vaadin.annotations.VaadinServletConfiguration;
import com.vaadin.annotations.Widgetset;
import com.vaadin.server.VaadinRequest;
import com.vaadin.server.VaadinServlet;
import com.vaadin.ui.Button;
import com.vaadin.ui.Button.ClickEvent;
import com.vaadin.ui.JavaScript;
import com.vaadin.ui.Label;
import com.vaadin.ui.UI;
import com.vaadin.ui.VerticalLayout;
import com.vaadin.client.ui.*;

@Theme("mytheme")
@Widgetset("my.vaadin.apptest.MyAppWidgetset")