Vaadin in wildfly 8.1

Im new to Vaadin and i’ve been reading various webpages about it but im still unable to get it up running.
I happened to stumble upon a post from Adam Bien → http://www.adam-bien.com/roller/abien/entry/essential_vaadin_7_java_ee
which i thought was nice and since i have a need for a way to expose some of my entities in the most simple way, i thought i would examine if vaadin is the way to go.
So im running IntelliJ 14, wildfly 8.1, maven and a project with some entities (no web and no web.xml)
I got Adam Bien’s example up and running and wanted to expand it to be able to show a simple entity
So i would need a JPAContainer to be able to select som data from my datasource, but even that is not possible to me.
After some reading i seem to understand that im supposed to download a vaadin sdk (vaadin-all-7.5.6.zip)
but where do i extract it to and which parts ?? (since im only interested in a simple ui for viewing/editing a few jpa’s ?)

Hi,

Don’t use JPAContainer
. I’m pretty sure it would be Adam’s opinion as well. Create service layer via you access your entities. Check out e.g.
this example
to get started with Vaadin and JPA with a better angle. I tend to suggest also people to throw in
DeltaSpike Data
these days. This
bit more complete Java EE example
uses DeltaSpike Data as well.

cheers,
matti

I looked at the example and tried to use bits of it here and there but still i think i’ll give up now
All this maven configuration is driving me mad

vaadin-cdi
switch
vaadin-themes
cdi-helpers
etc.

and their different versions - some of them exists and others dont, then some conflict in versions etc etc.
My own wildfly/maven config works without problems - but still im not sure if its a vaadin thing
or its the combination of vaadin and my project.
Anyway im not gonna spend more time with it than i already did.
Thanks

Hi,

Some Vaadin add-ons are only available via maven repository of the Directory. Add this to your pom.xml (or settings.mls):