DTO's are common for many users?

Hello,

I’m new to Vaadin and quite new to Java at all (approx. 2 yrs of learning and programming). I used to work with GWT/GXT since the beggining of my programmer-career :slight_smile: but since it’s quite ugly - I’ve decided to move to Vaadin.

And here’s the problem: GWT has seperated client-side and server-side. It’s obvious, that DTO in client-side can’t be accessed from server-side and the opposite way as well.

But now, in Vaadin, there’s no such division, so I have a trouble with making even the simpliest UserDTO.

By trouble, I mean that, after user logs on (let’s say: User A) to the app - user data got injected into dto, and later I can access that data w/o any problem. That’s ok. But the real problem begins when second user logs on (User B ) from some other computer/browser. Then - the DTO of user A gets ovewrited by user’s B data.

I’ve created a simple button on top menubar with caption maden by name and surname of logged user. When user is logging on - his/hers name and surname are stored in DTO, and button gets the data from DTO. Let’s say - User A logs on and the button caption will be: User A., Theb User B logs on from some other computer and the button caption for him is: User B. Now, if I will refresh the app-page where User A is logged - after refresh, the button caption wil be User B for both users.

Can anyone please explain me, what I’m doing wrong?
Thank you in advance
Best regards
Tom

Most likely you are using a static keyword somewhere. In Vaadin, since everything is serverside, the usage of static is strongly discouraged, because that object will be shared with all user. This results in exactly the kind of issue you are experiencing.