How to center horizontally a content in Vaadin

Hi

I’m a Java JSF web developer and new to Vaadin. I started to develop an application in Vaadin to learn it.
So, I have a simple page with fixed size (horizontalLayout for now) with some griids and butons and I want to have it centered horizontally, if the screen is bigger. I tried with gridLayout (3,3) with my content in the middle, but did not work as expected.
So, what is the easiest way (or the right way) to center a page or content in Vaadin.

And, second. What is the main difference between Layouts and Panel?

Thanks for your help.
Aleksander

If you have horizontalLayout or verticalLayout and component or set of components, which you want in the middle of the window you should set the component alignment from the parent layout component. So let us assume your parent layout component (the horizontalLayout) is “layout” the following should do the trick.

layout.setComponentAlignment(myComponent, Alignment.MIDDLE_CENTER); Component “myComponent” will be placed now in the middle. If you have set of component, make myComponent a layout component with certain width and height and place you components there.

Your answer helped me to understand how to do it. This works now. But now I have another issue.
Like indicates the attached snap, the vertical top aligment does not match with the grid width. Yes, because of 3 grid components in the fixed horizontal layout the space is divided by 33,xxxxx % each and the 2nd grid (smaller one) looks like not to be centered. How can I achieve that grid’s size matches with alignment size, in my case 36% - 27% - 36%.

How to control margin/padding of a grid or any component? With my one theme?

Aleksander

21030.jpg

Hi Aleksander,

you can fix your problem by using setExpandRation:

parentLayout.addComponents(component1, component2, component3);
  parentLayout.setExpandRatio(component1, 0.36f);
  parentLayout.setExpandRatio(component2, 0.27f);