Vaadin and MVP

I’m fairly new to Vaadin and trying to set up a new project at the moment using Vaadin and the MVP-Pattern.

I was using this as starting point and inspiration:
https://vaadin.com/book/vaadin7/-/page/advanced.architecture.html

But what was really confusing me was this sentence:

The presenter in MVP is a middle-man that handles all user interaction logic, but in an implementation-independent way, so that it doesn’t actually know anything about Vaadin.

I don’t really understand how its possible that the “Presenter doesn’t know anything about Vaadin”. Most of the time the main task of a presenter is retrieving data from the model and preparing it so that it can be bound to GUI-components. In Vaadin-terms that means creating containers, items, properties. So the presenter needs to know about these concepts, e.g. needs to know about the com.vaadin.data.Container interface.

Is my understanding wrong?

Thanks for any help

I hope the section isn’t too vague about the concepts. The idea of MVP is exactly that only the View knows about the UI framework technicalities. Typically, you could have a view implementation that uses Vaadin and then a GUI-less test view for running unit tests to test the presenter/model logic.

You could also have a view implementation with entirely other UI framework, such as Swing. For example, if you look
this Swing MVP example
, you could make that a Vaadin app simply by replacing the View class with a Vaadin implementation (and the main() and such of course). (The example doesn’t define a view interface though.)