How can I create a master page?

Goodmorning everyone.
I am a beginner who has just started to work with Vaadin . I would like to build a master page that will then be included in the other pages ( pretty much what you do with the html ) . I would like some advice on how to begin . I made a small application consists of a single class Ui in which I added the view using the navigator . Each page is personalized but I would like that the menu ’ existing in the Home Page was repeated in every view . For this I thought of a master page .

Thanks in advance for your attention.

You should take a look at the dashboard example: dashboard.demo.vaadin.com

What you need is to make a super View class containing the menu and the common layouts. Then, when creating child views extending the super view class.

What I find it most difficult is giving style and that stylish behaviour to the UI. Fortunately, by default, Vaadin gives an excelent look and feel.

ok thanks. Now I try to do so . But I did not understand something else . When I want to customize the components, for example buttons or some labels etc. in which file I should enter my rules ? in style.css file or file test.scss ? Sorry for this question but I did not understand how.

It works ! I inherited my main view and the child view works as if it were to include master page : - ) Now my problem is that i described in the last post. Can you help me?

I know in which point you are. At the beggining, I didn’t know where to begin from.

What you must know is that Vaadin uses SCSS (similar to SASS). You must enter your style rules within the .scss files, not within the css files. Vaadin has a SCSS compiler which turns the SCSS code into CSS.

So, modify or create SCSS file(s) and, afterwards, compile your Theme in eclipse:

Anyway, I don’t know why but sometimes the style changes last a bit to be seen in my webpage.