Another Push Problem

I am very new to Vaadin, but am really impressed so far. However, I really need Push to work, and I think I have read every thread on internet about it and every post I can find (including everything on this awesome page: https://vaadin.com/book/vaadin7/-/page/advanced.push.html) and it still has no effect.

I believe the code is correct: I use Pushmode.MANUAL and push when I want to update. I also tried Pushmode automatic. I see the code being hit properly and running correctly… just no change in the UI.

I think it has something to do with server setup. The last two lines of the console output when the server starts are:
Mar 10, 2015 6:59:12 PM com.vaadin.server.communication.PushHandler connectionLost
SEVERE: Could not get UI. This should never happen, except when reloading in Firefox - see http://dev.vaadin.com/ticket/14251.

The ticket references starting up in Firefox, but I am running internally from Eclipse.

So my questions are:
(1) How do I go about debugging this? and
(2) In the Swing version of this app, there are simple refresh() and update() methods that force the interface to reload. Is there anything like this in Vaadin components? I don’t see anything comparable.

I am fine with the latter low-tech solution. In fact, I like having that control.

Thanks for all your help.

Hi,

Can you please show us your code, secondly which server are you using?
Also, just check if your browser supports push, though vaadin framework fallbacks to Streaming.

Can you please try it out on modern browsers and report back what happens

Thanks,
Krishna.

I am deploying to Tomcat 8.0.18 and tested using the current Firefox (36.0.1). It doesn’t work fo rme.

After further thought, I am thinking that push might not be the best option for me. I won’t have any control of the client browser vendor or version and need to make sure this works all the time.