CssLayout Vs. VerticalLayout

Hello!

I’ve been using Vaadin for about three months now. It was pretty hard to comprehend the behaviour of the framework at first but as time has gone by I’ve gotten a grip on most components and features in the framework and what their capabilities are.

However, one problem that I can’t seem to get rid off is taming the generated div’s that appear as a product from using VerticalLayouts in your application view.
These components always seem to screw things up for me and it can take hours and a lot of headache before I get things as I want. And usually, the solution for me is swapping the VerticalLayout for a CssLayout. Which leads me to my question/discussion…

What exactly is the purpose of using a VerticalLayout in oppose to a CssLayout?

Which benefits are there to use a VerticalLayout. All I’ve seen so far is trouble. Inner div’s being generated with incompatible width’s and a wrapper/shell that has overflow: hidden; causing layouts to have their rightmost border cut off.

I would really like to hear from some of the more experienced Vaadin users (newbies like myself are of course also welcome to post their opinion!) if you from your experience could enact a concrete example of when a VerticalLayout is essential.

Btw, I have probably just had a rough start with the VeerticalLayout component and this in no way me arguing that it would be redundant! So don’t get the wrong idea… =)

We seem to struggle with layouts, too, often having conflicting issues with wanting layouts to support 100% width and height, but still have scrollbars when the content doesn’t fit. We suffer a lot with layouts that simply clip the view, especially when the browser is not maximized or on a smaller screen. I know this confuses a lot of users. To me, it seems that any layout in a Panel or Window should not clip by default.