use vaadin application with embedded jetty

Hi,

I’m completely new to Vaadin so forgive me if I’m asking the obvious :wink:

I am developing an application that has an embedded jetty server.
The application also needs a web interface to interact with it.
For this I was thinking to use Vaadin, but I have no clue how I can/should add my Vaadin application to the embedded jetty server.

So let’s say that I have a Vaadin application called “VaadinTestGUI” which should be integrated with my application (let’s say “MyTestApp”) through jetty.
My own servlets are defined like this:

WebAppContext testAppContext = new WebAppContext();
testAppContext.setContextPath(“/mytestapp”);
testAppContext.addServlet(new ServletHolder(new MyOwnTestServlet(parent)), “/testservlet/*”);

=> Can I just add my Vaadin application in a similar way ?
Something like this:

ServletHolder vaadinLoader = new ServletHolder(new com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.server.ApplicationServlet());
vaadinLoader.setInitParameter(“application”,“VaadinTestGui”);
testAppContext.addServlet(vaadinLoader, “/vaadin/*”);

Would this work ?

Note:
I need to be able to pass one or more objects from my own application to the Vaadin application,
that’s why I’m using a ServletHolder in the example above (but I’m not sure this is the way to go)

Can someone give me some advise with this please ?

Thanks,

Guy

In the meantime I got it partially working.

What is working:
After manually copying some extra files, extracting some jars, etc, I can access the Vaadin GUI through the jetty server which is embedded in my application.

What is not working:

• as mentioned above, I need to manually copy and/or extract some extra files (parts of the themes, widgetsets, …)
  • I can’t access my application code from within the Vaadin GUI application, as I have no clue how to pass existing java objects to the Vaadin application.
    (I hope this is possible, otherwise I’m afraid Vaadin isn’t the right solution for me :frowning: )