Exception: Trying to push a detached ui

Hi all! I am new in Vaadin. So I writed my demo application and during it execution time to time I received “com.vaadin.ui.UIDetachedException: Trying to push a detached ui” exception, when trying to push updates from server.
Could you explain me what it means and why it happens?

Hi Maryna,

I had the same problem using Vaadin 7.2.6. Did you get any further insight into it?

For me the problem doesn’t occur all the time.

-Rohan

Hello Maryna & Rohan

Can you please share your snippet of code? So that I help debugging the issue.

Technicallly speaking, it means the UI is already detached from the current session and the New Updates are being pushed. Check if the session is getting invalidated, user Inactivity and also on how updates are being pushed.

Thanks,
Krishna.

Hey Krishna,

I have a UI object with a custom component inside it. The custom component is given a callback to the UI’s push method:
This is scala code, but I’m not using scaladin - just straight Vaadin 7.2.6 code. Here’s a simplification of what I’m doing:

[code]
@Push
class MyUI extends UI {
override def init(…) {
val myComponent = new MyComponent(() => this.push())

setContent(myComponent)

}

}

class MyComponent(uiCallback: Unit=>Unit) extends CustomComponent {

// This component represents a table.
// When a new element gets added it calls the uiCallback passed in at construction.
}
[/code]Many different servlets are adding new rows to the component which is then calling the push method back on the main UI.

Thanks for any help and let me know if you need more info.

-Rohan

Hello Rohan,