Integrating Vaadin UI components into existing GWT project

Hi All,
I’m a bit new to Vaadin. Been reading the book of Vaadin and trying to figure out how (or if) I can integrate just the Vaadin UI components into an existing GWT project. I thought it would have been as simple as having the correct inherit tag and copying the VAADIN subdirectory to my deployment. But this doesn’t seem to work as I get the following runtime error:

ERROR] Unable to load module entry point class com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.client.DefaultWidgetSet (see associated exception for details)
java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: -1
at java.lang.String.substring(String.java:1768)
at com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.client.ApplicationConfiguration.initConfigurations(ApplicationConfiguration.java:119)
at com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.client.DefaultWidgetSet.onModuleLoad(DefaultWidgetSet.java:69)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585)
at com.google.gwt.dev.shell.ModuleSpace.onLoad(ModuleSpace.java:326)
at com.google.gwt.dev.shell.BrowserWidget.attachModuleSpace(BrowserWidget.java:343)
at com.google.gwt.dev.shell.mac.BrowserWidgetSaf.access$400(BrowserWidgetSaf.java:35)
at com.google.gwt.dev.shell.mac.BrowserWidgetSaf$ExternalObject.gwtOnLoad(BrowserWidgetSaf.java:82)
at com.google.gwt.dev.shell.mac.BrowserWidgetSaf$GwtOnLoad.invoke(BrowserWidgetSaf.java:171)
at org.eclipse.swt.internal.carbon.OS.ReceiveNextEvent(Native Method)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.sleep(Display.java:3801)
at com.google.gwt.dev.SwtHostedModeBase.sleep(SwtHostedModeBase.java:241)
at com.google.gwt.dev.SwtHostedModeBase.processEvents(SwtHostedModeBase.java:236)
at com.google.gwt.dev.HostedModeBase.pumpEventLoop(HostedModeBase.java:558)