Classpath entry VAADIN_DOWNLOAD

I apologise in advance if this is too trivial but I’m completely new to vaadin but also fairly new to eclipse and Java also. I’m trying to get my first HelloWorld style vaadin application working. The error I’m getting in eclipse is:

Classpath entry VAADIN_DOWNLOAD/gwt-user/2.1.1/gwt-user.jar will not be exported or published. Runtime ClassNotFoundExceptions may result.

I have set an environment variable VAADIN_DOWNLOAD to point to where my gwt-user folder was downloaded to but that didn’t seem to help.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks! Rob.

To create a HelloWorld application, all you should need to do is “New… → Vaadin Project” and then “Run As… → Run on server” or “Export… → WAR” to a server. This classpath variable should be automatically set by the plugin to point to the directory where the Vaadin plugin automatically downloads the correct versions of the required JARs, and all other settings should also be correct “out of the box”.

As for the warning, that JAR is primarily used in code that will be compiled to JavaScript (the widgetset), so IIRC not having it in a WAR that you deploy onto a server should not be a problem - as long as the correct widgetset (either one you have compiled yourself or the default one inside Vaadin JAR) is in the WAR, directly or in the Vaadin JAR.

OK thanks. I had been using Run As … Run on Server using a Tomcat 7 server. It didn’t seem to work but I will try again tonight now that you have helped me understand what is required.

OK I have it working now. I think all it was is that my project needed to be refreshed in the navigator view. One step forward. -_-