How to start with new Layout/How to speed things up with Vaadin

Hi,

I’m a developer with a problem :wink: Currently we’re close to an end on our project (using Vaadin) however…

we’re getting some trouble with displaying simple data in one of our views. (over 500 KB of data to display, and over 15K DOM elements after Vaadin is done with generating it… + lots, and lots and LOTS seconds before it’s done).

My task is to find out how i can make this as small and as fast as possible, so my first guess was to use some other layouts than those avaliable in standar Vaadin.

I used WeeLayout, DashLayout and CssLayout(default), compare is below:

weeLayout 
- page size: 			990 KB
- DOM elements (SMALL): 1454
- DOM elements (BIG): 	15423
cssLayout
- page size: 			886 KB
- DOM elements (SMALL): 1434
- DOM elements (BIG): 	13799
DashLayout 
- page size: 			938 KB
- DOM elements (SMALL): 1408 
- DOM elements (BIG): 	12163  

It didn’t work. So my other guess is to write my own Layout, can someone help me with this ? I even don’t know from what should i start.

Thanks
Lukasz

Hi,

Your case sounds rather exceptional. I don’t know what your data is like, but are you sure that you can’t break the display down using Table, paging, etc?

Putting data into a Label or CustomLayout as HTML is always the lightest way to render it. Remember that Vaadin is for building user interfaces - if the user doesn’t have to interact with the data, there’s not so much point in using Vaadin components.

Hi,

My case is rather not usual :wink: i agree.

So here is the data. Entire app is made using Spring + Spring Security + Vaadin + Lucene. I don’t want to use any more frameworks so rewrite some code with Spring MVC is not possible. At least now.

We’ve got 3 views
: form, results and metric.

Form made with vaadin is OK.

Results and Metric are the problem.