Create an Eclipse project from existing code

Hey!

To get started with Vaadin, I would like to tinker a bit with the QuickDashboard code.
I have my fair share of experience with coding so getting into the framework itself won’t be a problem. I am, however, struggling with creating a compilable Vaadin project in Eclipse. I’m not well versed using Eclipse and I have zero experience with Maven so could somebody run me trough the motions?
I have the project downloaded from GitHub (https://github.com/vaadin/dashboard-demo) and Eclipse (Kepler) running with the Ivy- and Vaadin plugins installed, what now?
(And please, don’t just write, “Just use Maven” or “Reconfigure the flux capacitor”, as I said, unfortunately, I’m have little experience with the tools involved)

Thanks in advance!

Well, I figured it out myself, it’s actually fairly easy :slight_smile: So, if anybody else needs to know, here is what you do:

1. Obviously, install Eclipse, the Ivy plugin and the Vaadin plugin. Also, you should set up a Tomcat server and let Eclipse know about it.
  2. Download the QuickTickets sources
    here
  3. In Eclipse, select Import → Maven → Existing Maven Projects and specify the folder with the source code (specifically, the folder which contains the pom.xml)
  4. Now, the project should be created and ready to run. When you run it, you’ll get an
    java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException
    though
  5. Go to
    Rotten Tomatoes
    and sign up for an API key (it’s free)
  6. Enter the key in the DataProvider.java. Search for “xxxxx” to find the placeholder.
  7. Now, you’re good to go :slight_smile:

I am experiencing problems in trying to get QuickTickets-Dashboad to compile and run within Eclipse (Juno) with Ivy and Vaadin plugin. Am glad to find the above post.