JRebel alternative ?

I’m working now more and more faster developing a vaadin application. but one thing drives me crazy.
i spend so much time to wait each time i can reload the browser. because i’m new to vaadin i need to change something smal and neet to see the result.

is there any open source alternative for jrebel? what do you use? how do you handle this issue?

thanks
isa

last year I looked for a JRebel alternative and I just didn’t find any with the same level of integration as JRebel. I believe I found one OPen Source project I forgot the name of.
JRebel works fine with Vaadin and I am very happy with that

i belive you, that jrebel works fine with vaadin :slight_smile: no doubt.
but for a student or a freetime developer are $265/per jear to much. that’s the reason why i search for an alternative.

thanks
is

There are ‘OSS’ and ‘Social’ licenses of JRebel available just for this purpose. It just requires that the software is either open-sourced or strictly non-commercial. See the Free options on
this page

Isabelle,

Although I agree with you, as a freelancer myself i try to stay in the OSS world (and give back to the OSS world) however sometimes there are tools that are really time savers and no good alternatives in the OSS world. JRebel as one of the tools that has a very short ROI, even with it’s price of 285.

I recently fall on Dynamic Code Evolution VM (http://ssw.jku.at/dcevm/). Maybe it can do the tricks.

Did you try it out? Would be interesting to hear your experiences.

JEP-159
is related (JEP by the same
author: Thomas Würthinger
). And maybe
Graal
project is something that will eventually replace this work - at Thomas is currently working in the project.

That said - JRebel seems to the be only real option at the moment.

No, just have seen the website for know. But I would also be interested to hear any experience about it.

All in all, the DCEVM project seems to be dead. No activity on the project for a long time.