How to get the selected Items in TwinCol Select?

Hi,

It’s the second thread I make so I’m really new with vaadin.

My problem is that I don’t know how can I get the selected Items at the right column of TwinCol Select to work with,

I have two TwinCol Select Components in my application, with diferent values.
I want the user to select several elements in both Twin Col Select and then, when the user clicks on a button, I want to show them in a new Window (like a list of all the elements selected before in TwinCol Select components).

I don’t know how to get the items selected. I have been looking in the Forum but I don’t find the way to do it.

Anything will be very helpful.

Thank you all in advance

As with any selection component, the getValue() returns a collection of the selected items. Well, their item IDs.

And most TwinColSelects are multiselect, so you will set/get with a java.util.Set param.

Yes, but… maybe the original author (and for sure me) was meaning how to get the currently selected items: that is, the labels where the user clicked on (to get multiple selection, the user has to click holding the CTRL button down).

I digged into the source code of TwinColSelect and I cannot see anything that can do that. As stated above, one can get the whole content of the right column with getValue(), but that’s all.

Am I right?

What “selected values” means for a TwinColSelect is the set of items in the right-hand column, and “highlighted” items are only used to transfer more than one element at a time between the selected and non-selected items. This differs from a ListSelect, where the selection is the set of “highlighted” items.

The two are simply different ways to select multiple items. TwinColSelect does not understand a concept of “selection within the selection”, which what you are referring to would amount to - for TwinColSelect, that would simply be internal state information.