Programming Newbie. Vaadin where to start ?

Hi .

I am a management consultant by profession. However, keep reading about technology and recently came across Vaadin. I have fundamental questions, since I am new to programming, however I dabbled in java almost a decade back,while still in school. I would appreciate if you can answer few of my basic questions.

1. How much of Java should I know since I have never done programming ?
    Can some share the roadmap to follow leading to programming in Vaadin. The web is flooded with so much information, is there method to madness. What should I read to be able to create a full fledged application in vaadin in shortest timeframe. I understand there are reasons why all these frameworks like EJB, JSP , Groovy and hibernate et al. are there. But, is there a straight line to create a working application with Vaadin UI, business logic, database .

2. How can I stop going in circles ?
    I tried the basic tutorial , was excited to see the results. Then, started moving in circles , need to know JPA → hibernate or beans → EJB. What is the simplest stack to start and will appreciate the links or books to refer to develop level 2 understanding of Vaadin based application and could see some results. Vaadin documentation is very clear and well written, however to appreciate I have to bring myself upto speed with java backend. Is there a way to hit road and make it to the destination without going in circles.

Would really appreciate a response.

Hi, and welcome!

Glad you found your way to Vaadin. I’ll try to answer your questions.