Vaadin loading and refresh very slow

Hi,

I am developing an application with Vaadin 7.

I noticed that it is very slow to load the first page and every refresh (about 10 seconds).

I have a vertical layout with some simple components (my tables are empty now and I use CustomLayouts) and I used the @PreserveOnRefresh annotation.

Why is so slow? Vaadin 6 is faster on the same configurations.

Are you using a custom Sass/SCSS theme? We’re seeing slowdowns of 10s-100s when developing a custom SCSS theme and running the server in Debug mode.

Workarounds for the issue currently include running the server in normal mode, disabling JRebel or cleaning your local .m2 repository.

We’re looking into what is causing the Sass compiler to behave like this, which is most likely the problem, since if you view the network request for the page, the styles.css is the one blocking the page rendering.

Correct me if I’m wrong, and if this is not the source for your problem.

Yes, I’m new in V7 and I am using the default way to use a custom theme, so it is Sass/SCSS and I run the server in debug mode.

I think you got the point.

Can I use a default CSS theme for V7? How?

Just remove the @Theme annotation from your UI class to use the default Reindeer theme (or replace your custom theme with either Runo or Chameleon).

Another option is to run the Sass compiler separately to precompile your custom theme into the styles.css in your theme folder. That way the Sass compiler isn’t invoked when the application is loaded. There’s the SassCompiler class you can use, just pass it two parameters, the paths for the input styles.scss and the output styles.css.

I think I will remove the annotation and use old setTheme function.

I will try, thank you.

EDIT:

Uhm I noticed that there is no more the setTheme function.
How can I do to use my custom theme in plain css?

EDIT2:

I think I figured out:
delete the scss file in the theme
create a new styles.css file