AddressBook issue ? show stopper found ...

Hi all,

I’m new with Vaadin with great GWT experience from the start of this technology in 2006.
I’m impressed by the Vaadin framework really !
I’m playing with the AddressBook sample project and i’ve encountered a show stopper :frowning:

Use case:

Open two browsers on http://localhost:8080/AddressBook/

from one browser edit Lisa contact and change her name by Lisa8 and save the contact.
from the other browser select lisa contact and you get the following alert

Out of syncSomething has caused us to be out of sync with the server.
Take note of any unsaved data, and click here to re-sync.

Why this occurs, how to avoid it?

This is happened with the AddressBook Vaadin sample original version.

Thank you by advance to help me to continue my proof of concept to use Vaadin instead of pure GWT as i do for now.

Best Regards

Luciano

By other browser you mean other browser window. This means that the both access the same application.

By default a vaadin application only supports one browser window / tab at time (per user). In order to support multiple windows the support must be enabled explicitly. See
http://vaadin.com/web/joonas/wiki/-/wiki/Main/Supporting%20Multible%20Tabs
. This default is unfortunate and will be changed in Vaadin 7 to “support multiple windows/tabs by default”.

Thank you really much for this answer Joonas,

Yes the problem comes when i open 2 tabs because it’s sharing the same underlying http session.

I’m doing the exercise to port the AddressBook to MuliTab as for the Calculator Sample.

This raises a question. Severals beans use the AddressBookApplication in AddressBook like SearchView , PersonList beans and what i have to pass them? the AddressBookApplication as currently or the AddressBookWindow which now contains all the logic of the application.

I’m a bit lost by what belongs to a user session (The application instance ? the Window instance?)

Thank you

Luciano