@VaadinView and @VaadinUI annotations?

Hello everyone!

I’m just learning Vaadin. Seems like I have good timing, what with the recent release of 7, but I’m also coming across a lot of things that seem to have little documentation, for example the @VaadinView and @VaadinUI annotations. I could find no documentation for them in the book of Vaadin, or the API, but the sample project I auto generated in eclipse had an @VaadinView annotation, and it looks pretty cool.

I think based on this:

https://vaadin.com/documents/10187/315619f2-e688-4b6f-80df-4b0f790d98bf

that @VaadinView lets you define main “view” pages that are more easily bookmarkable. But I’m not sure if it does that, or if it does anything else.

@VaadinUI doesn’t seem to exist, and I can’t fathom what it would do if it did exist. Anyone have any idea?

–Nathan

The last part of the presentation you refer to cover the roadmap for the next months and beyond - not what is already in Vaadin 7. These annotations are for the Vaadin CDI add-on, of which an official beta is currently planned for sometime in March. The add-on provides dependency injection and more on servers supporting JSR-299 / JavaEE 6.

The latest Vaadin Eclipse plug-in creates a starting point for a project that you can then start to modify to add features. The Eclipse plug-in and the standard archetypes do not use these annotations in any templates, though, so I wonder how you got them into your project.

For using the Navigator etc. directly, see the tutorials
here
- especially the basic projects and the Navigator section if those are what you are interested in.

If you do want to try the CDI add-on, there is already a version on GitHub that you can compile yourself, but I would recommend waiting for the beta unless you already know CDI and want to do some early testing without much documentation.