Weird Layout(?) problem with third party GWT component

Hello all!

I’m new to vaadin and wanted to develop a little test site involving dynamic charts. So i tried to implement an example found in the wiki to integrate gflot to vaadin:

Integrating an existing GWT widget

I created a new Vaadin 7 project in eclipse (Indigo SR2) using the vaadin plugin (2.1.0.2013…), reproduced the steps mentioned in the wiki and compiled the widgets. For the class LinePlotState I had to use AbstractComponentState as a superclass because ComponentState could not be found (I hope this was correct?)

If Im using this new component like:

public class TestUI extends UI {

@Override
	protected void init(VaadinRequest request) {
		VerticalLayout layout = new VerticalLayout();
		layout.setMargin(true);
		setContent(layout);

LinePlot mp = new LinePlot();
                mp.addSeries("Test", "green", new Float[] {3f,5f,3f,6f,8f,12f,1f,9f});

layout.addComponent(mp);
	}
}

the graph is correctly displayed, but the component (graph) gradually grows vertically without interaction (and without limits -_-). I tried using different vaadin versions (7.0.0 and snapshot) and different gflot versions (2.4.0, 2.4.3, 3.0.1).

Can someone help with this problem? I can provide he code and other details if needed. Thanks in advance.

Best regards…

Hi, and welcome!

Just a little background info: Vaadin components can have three different states regarding it size; defined, relative and undefined. Define means a set size like 300px, relative is something like 50% of the parent layout and undefined means that the size of the component should be as big as component itself wants to be - in a way that it fits just right.