Form Data Binding

I’ll start out by saying that I’m fairly new to Vaadin, I love it, and Vaadin 7 looks to be a huge improvement on 6 (and that was good enough :grin:)

I want to bind a FieldGroup to a Java bean that has standard getter and setter methods but no underlying field associated with the property name.

E.g. In the following MyBean, I want to bind the property, not field, ‘blah’ to a TextBox within a Form.

public class MyBean() {

private InnerBean innards;

public String getBlah() {
        return innards.getBlah();
    }

public void setBlah(String blah) {
        innards.setBlah(blah);
    }
}

In Vaadin 6 this was pretty simple, just shove MyBean into a BeanItem, and then set it as a Form’s datasource (and then optionally specify a FieldFactory and/or visible properties)

In Vaadin 7, where you have to manually create the FieldGroup it doesn’t work, because there’s obviously no underlying field.

So my question is how would you bind something like MyBean into a Form like thing in Vaadin 7, without manually creating the correct type of Field and manual binding for each property.

Many thanks,

Chris

Hi Chris.

In vaadin 7 the binding of bean data to the form uses BeanFieldGroup<?> and works something like this:

final BeanFieldGroup<MyBean> binder = new BeanFieldGroup<MyBean>(MyBeanclass);
		final FormLayout form = new FormLayout();

// Add bean item that is bound.
		binder.setItemDataSource(myBean);

form.addComponent(binder.buildAndBind("caption", "blah"));

More details can be found in

9.4. Binding Fields to Items

9.4.5. Binding Fields to a Bean

Thanks for your reply.

I’m not entirely sure that that works though, if the Bean that you’re binding to doesn’t have an underlying Java Field.
In my understanding when you call buildAndBind it tries to determine the property type by investingating the underlying field on the bean with the given property identifier.