Problems to get started with VAADIN

Hi all,…

hopefully someone can help me.

I am a absolutely beginner with JSP / Vaadin, etc.

Background: We got a infrastructure portal written in php which we wrote during the last years.
Now it is my task to rewrite it in Java and we decided to use VAADIN.

But actually I got beginners problems .

a) Each time when I change my source code, I need to restart eclipse to get the changes on the tomcat website? How can I solve this?

b) If eclipse is closed, “http://localhost:8080/testProject/” is not longer available. How can I deploy it permanently? Actually I deploy it using the tomcat interface. But would like to have a functionality in eclipse to deploy.

c) Themes… Would like to use the reeinder theme. But it is not installed in [quote]
…/WebContent/VAADIN/themes/
[/quote]. How can I install it there?

d) Themes… Due to missing the default themes, I tried to make my own, and stored a css file in /WebContent/VAADIN/themes/TestTheme/styles.css. But using setTheme("TestTheme"); always causes this message: NFO: Requested resource [VAADIN/themes/TestTheme/styles.css]
not found from filesystem or through class loader. Add widgetset and/or theme JAR to your classpath or add files to WebContent/VAADIN folder.

Please help me getting started with VAADIN…

regards, Dirk from Germany.

ps: a screenshot from my eclipse project explorer:

Most of your issues stem from the same thing; you are expecting Java to work like PHP.

When running java for the web, you always need to have a server running; in your case it is tomcat. I would recommend using the tomcat and WTP plugins for eclipse, that will let you control the server and deployment directly from eclipse. Java Servlets are deployed in WAR files that contain all the files the application needs. using WTP, eclipse will manage this process for you. You just need to select which project you want to deploy to which server.