Closing modal window causes exception

Hi,

I am new to vaadin and honestly to UI work in general. So please forgive my ignorance if this is a simple question.

I have been using the answer from this thread to try and close a modal window that is a subwindow:

http://vaadin.com/forum/-/message_boards/message/119574?_19_redirect=%2Fforum%2F-%2Fmessage_boards%2Fsearch%3F_19_redirect%3D%252Fforum%26_19_breadcrumbsCategoryId%3D0%26_19_searchCategoryIds%3D0%26_19_keywords%3Dsubwindow%2Brefresh%2Bmain%2Bwindow

My window gets the following exception when I try to close it:

java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: com.vaadin.ui.Window.getParent()Lcom/vaadin/ui/Window;
at org.dpportal.compliance.ui.form.ComplianceBaseLayout$2.buttonClick(ComplianceBaseLayout.java:53)

I am using vaadin with Liferay 6.0.4 and I do have a form that itself is not a window, instead I have a button on the main window that launches the form like this:

Button newFormButton = new Button("New Incident", new Button.ClickListener() {
        public void buttonClick(Button.ClickEvent event) {
            // Just add component here and move the window creation to ComplianceBaseLayout
           Window formWindow = new Window();
            formWindow.addComponent(new ComplianceBaseLayout());
            formWindow.setName("FormWindow");
            formWindow.setHeight("380px");
            formWindow.setWidth("200px");
            formWindow.setModal(true);
            getWindow().addWindow(formWindow);

}
    });

addComponent(newFormButton);

And I then within ComplianceBaseLayout which extends VerticalLayout I have a Submit button with a click listener that tries to close the window like this:

Button apply = new Button(“Apply”, new Button.ClickListener() {
public void buttonClick(Button.ClickEvent event) {
try {
complianceForm.commit();
getWindow().getParent().removeWindow(getWindow());
} catch (Throwable e) {
// Ingnored, we’ll let the Form handle the errors later
e.printStackTrace();
}
}
});