getServerName and getContextPath()?

Hi everyBody
i’m new to itmill and i want to get reference to the current request?
i usually use request get information about the application like the following:
String path = request.getContextPath();
String basePath = request.getScheme()+“://”+request.getServerName()+“:”+request.getServerPort()+path+“/”;

so how can i do this in itmill

Step 1: register a new transactionListener in your Application class’ init:

public class MyApplication extends Application implements com.itmill.toolkit.service.ApplicationContext.TransactionListener {

public void init() {
        getContext().addTransactionListener(this);
    }
}

Step 2: implement the interface methods:

public void transactionStart(Application application, Object transactionData) {
        request = (HttpServletRequest) transactionData;
    }

public void transactionEnd(Application application, Object transactionData) {
        request = null;
    }

thnx for ur reply
but how can i access the request from any other class for example a class extends VerticalLayout should i implement this interface?

also i’ve another question
in a login window i’ve tried to store the user information using this statments:
List user = new ArrayList();
user.add((String) login.getValue());
user.add((String) password.getValue());
getApplication().setUser(user);

but when i tried to get this information from any other classes through:
getApplication().getUser(user);
it return null so how i can solve this?
thanx

There are many ways to do this, one way is to make the VerticalLayout implement TransactionListener and add it as a transaction listener. Another would be to keep the listener in the application and call some method in the layout (myLayout.doStuff()).