code splitting: vaadin versus plain gwt

I’m fairly new to GWT (been using for about 8 months) and have just read the Vaadin book.

Our web applications are divided into modules (features). A typical user does not have access to all the modules. For example, we have an application where the interface is tabbed, each tab being a module, and a typical user will not see all the tabs.

We have started migrating these applications from JSP with Ext JS to GWT. Using JSP, the code for a module (tab) would never be loaded into the user’s web browser, which is what we want for security reasons. We do not want the user to even know that a module (tab) exists when they don’t have access to it. If the module (tab) is loaded into the user’s web browser and simply hidden, the user can still inspect the code loaded into the their web browser and determine that this other module exists.

With the introduction of GWT code splitting, we expect to split the GWT compiled code into modules so the code for a module (tab) will not be loaded into the user’s web browser if they don’t have access to it.

Reading about Vaadin, it seems that one can readily code split out a widgetset, but I believe this is a different than what I want, because a widget from a widgetset may be used in (shared by) multiple modules.

Am I misunderstanding? Is it readily possible to do what I want with Vaadin, which is code split out a module (feature) of my application?

Thanks

I think you are heading the right way :slight_smile:

The biggest difference between in GWT and Vaadin is that in Vaadin the user interface resides in the server-side memory. That makes it easier for you not to expose your UI code to anyone.

The full widgetset is loaded to client, but it only contains the core presentation logic of the UI widgets like a label or textfield. Otherwise your application UI is never sent to client unless it is visible.