New Navigator and View controls. Vaadin 7

https://vaadin.com/wiki/-/wiki/Main/Creating%20a%20bookmarkable%20application%20with%20back%20button%20support

Looked at the above article. Code does not work. For example the reference to import com.vaadin.server.WrappedRequest;. No such animal WrappedRequest in 7 Beta 3. Created other class files per the article and pasted the code examples in. Lots of red everywhere… lol

I am a newbie to Vaadin. I bought the Learning Vaadin. Read it.

Went through the Book Of Vaadin. Created the example project with Roo. Worked fine. I noticed it makes extensive use of plugin extensions to accomplish the Navigation / View design. I thought it was Interesting that the most basic (getting started) example has to go outside the core product to do something so simple. I looked at the code it generated but I am hesitant to go that route as the online docs seem to indicate this methodology and the associated plugins are going to be obsoleted by Vaadin 7x.

As I said I am new, so I am going to start out by apologizing for my next few remarks as I have been a developer for many years and have a certain perception of how project development should work.

As a developer I want to build products with the tools I select, not spend my time fighting just trying to get the tools to simply work. My customer is paying me to build products not fight with tools.

As a newbie I am just trying to understand. If the base examples blow up I am not going to crack open the source at this point and fix it as a lot of you surely do as part of the open source community. I am just trying to swim at this point.