IntelliJ IDEA setup

I am a newcomer to Vaadin and will have an attempt to replace some old PHP-sites with a Vaadin-based web application. I wanted to use my favorite Java IDE, but did not find much information on how to setup a project in IntelliJ IDEA. And since switching back to Eclipse is not an option, I had to figure it out myself

I managed to get a simple HelloWorld application running, and will describe here the steps I took so other newbies like me won’t have to figure it out them self.

Since I am quite new to creating Java-based web applications, feel free to suggest improvements on my project setup.

1. Download the Vaadin JAR
  2. If not already done, install a Tomcat server
  3. Start IntelliJ and create new project from scratch ( all steps below are performed with IntelliJ 9 )
  4. Type of project is Java Module and as desired technology you select Web Application. This will create the web folder, including the WEB-INF dir and a web.xml file
  5. Create a web/WEB-INF/lib folder and place the Vaadin JAR into that folder
  6. Goto Project Structure | Modules and let your module depend on the Vaadin JAR. Mark it as export
  7. Create a HelloWorld class and adjust your web.xml file, as described in the book of Vaadin
  8. To run/debug, create a new “Tomcat Server” configuration. If not yet present, configure a Tomcat server by providing the link to the installation dir of your Tomcat server

This should do it (at least, it was sufficient for me)

Thanks a lot. Worked for me as well, at least in debug mode. Haven’t tried deployment.

thank you! that info’s helped me a lot!

JetBrains just released plugin for IntelliJ IDEA to support Vaadin:

http://plugins.intellij.net/plugin/?idea&id=6727

Take a look.